Internet of Things Integration Platform
Remote Monitoring, M2M and Device Management Software Platform
AggreGate Platform

连网服务器(Device Server)管理

AggreGate为位于局域网络的集博连网服务器(固定功能或是可程序化功能),增加多种网络功能。

  • 联机功能(Link Service): 完整的将位于设备及计算机的数据完成交换,并避开防火墙的阻挡。
  • 动态DNS功能:协助无固定IP位置的设备,经由DNS取得IP位置。
  • HTTP Proxy 功能:协助使用者经由因特网的方式,进入属于各个局域网络下联机设备的网页及数据。

Link Service

在一般WAN的环境下,因为下列的因素会使得不同结点(host)的通讯变的不是很容易:

固定IP位置数量的不足

目前许多的网络IP位置已经不足,尤其是我们常用的因特网。为因应这样的问题,有许多的方式让你能很容易的取得IP位置,以下是几个实际的例子:

  • 动态 IP位置,以依据主网域IP的位置随时变更。
  • NAT (网络地址转换),可让多台主机以同一个外部IP位置,与因特网联机。

上述的技术可以让每一部主机都可以建立向外的联机功能,例如去浏览网页。但反向来看,要让外部设备主动与主机建立起联机关系,就变的很困难或完美的不可能。因为动态IP或完全没有自已的外部IP位置,所以很难知道目前要联机的IP位置。

所以唯一的方式就是以固定IP的方式,来建立每个设备间的联机。例如你要先向你的ISP租用固定IP,实际来说一个IP的租用费用不是很高,但是当你的系统有成千上百的设备都需要固定IP时,所有的IP租用费用就是一笔可观的费用了。虽然你有可以有自已的WAN,IP位置看起来像的不用钱一样。但其实每个固定IP还是需要花费你一些管理的费用。

防火墙会阻挡外来的信息

假设你所取得足够的固定IP位置,但在你眼前还有一个更大的难题…你必须正确的连接连网服务器,而这表示外来的讯号会经由防火墙而被阻挡。防火墙会阻挡未知的外来讯号及联机,除非你开放其中的端口让外部的联机可以直接连到内部的网络。但这样会增加设定的工作量,同时也增加安全防护的漏洞(更多未经防火墙管制的外部联机,正表示更高的网络危险性)。

一个可行的方案是将所有联机的连网服务器均设定为向外联机(outbound connection),指向特定一个网络主机。这可以解决租用过多的IP位置问题,所以你只需要一个固定IP位置就足够了。但是…这也表示只有这台特定的主机能与所有的连网服务器联机。一旦要对个别的连网服务器做调整,就必须回到网服务器所在的内部网络,逐一进行。实际上这样的方案在实行上还是有它的缺点。

所以什么样的方式可以让连网服务器及所联机的主机间,在位于不同的局域网络、防火墙重重的阻挡、变动的IP位置…等困难的情况下建立双向的联机?Link Service就是解决所有问题的答案。

Link Service

通常来说要建立向外联机,要比接受一个进入联机来的容易。不幸的是在建立双向的联机上,总有一端要接受进入的联机要求。

集博LinkServer提供一个解决的方案,让建立联机的双方可以透可“中介者“(Link Service)完成联机,而双方都只需要 建立向外联机。

这就像你和你的朋友做用ICQ或MSN,事实上你们双方是连到一个集中的服务器上。你和你朋友都不会使用固定IP,唯一有固定IP的是服务器。双方都使用向外联机,所以不需设定防火墙,双方也不需固定IP位置。

Link Service就是使用这样的概念,不同的是它是专为集博的连网服务器所开发的软件!你可以让位于现场的连网服务器使用outbound connection与Link Service联机。当主机要与现场的连网服务器联机时,也可以使用outbound connection与Link Service联机。双方都藉由LinkServer的协助,完成双向的联机。

动态DNS功能

Link Server的缺点在于在联机的速率上会比直接联机的方式,要来的慢。那是因为所有的数据都必须先经由LinkServer完成联机。

这个问题对于数据传输量小的应用,并不会是个问题。但是有时侯在考虑传输速度时,你还是希望设备与主机双方能直接联机。但问题就出在于会经常改变的浮动IP位置,这也是ADSL最常使用的联机方式。

对于浮动IP,你需要一个方法能追踪IP的变化(来解决浮动IP的问题,并让IP变成相对“稳定可追踪“)。并让你知道联机的连网服务器属于那一个网域。

这些需求就是dDNS功能所能提供的。在dDNS功能下,每一个连网服务器会取得一个"host name",格式就像dev1.abccorp.dev.srv1.com(在这个例子里,domain name就是srv1.com)。你可以使用这个host name来与你的连网服务器直接联机,就算IP位置变更了,所对应的URL还是相同。

既然以直接联机方式与连网服务器建立联机,中间防火墙阻挡的问题就必须要妥善的设定。虽然防火墙设设定上会比Link Service来的复杂,但这可以加速数据量的传输。

在动态DNS模式下,连网服务器只有在一开始设定的时侯才会连结LinkServer。一旦由DHCP服务器取得IP位置后,就不再与LinkServer联机。相对于Link Service模式,连网服务器与主机间的数据传输将不再透过LinkServer方式对传,而是像一般的连网服务器直接与主机联机对传。

HTTP Proxy 功能

假如你有成千上百的连网服务器,而每个服务器均内建有一定数量的网页供外部进行网页管理监控之用。在固定IP的状况下,我们很容易就能透过这些内建的网页进行网页管理功能。但实际上连网服务器所在的位置多有防火墙保护,而固定IP也要耗费不少钱。这样的情况使得与连网服务器直接联机变得很不容易。而HTTP Proxy功能提供一个通用的方式,可经由LinkServer直接与连网服务器联机。原理如下:

  • 内建管理网页的连网服务器使用HTTP Proxy模块,与LinkServer联机。
  • 使用者相看其中特定连网服务器的网页管理页面,所以使用网络浏览器,开启如http://linkserver.bigcompany.com/dev/admin/dev1/data.html的网页。
  • 由网络浏览器传送的HTTP指令会由LinkServer接收并进行处理。
  • LinkServer会导引HTTP指令到最近建立联机关系,host name为admin.dev1的连网服务器。
  • 这个连网服务器会进行指令处理,并传回data.html页面给LinkServer。
  • LinkServer再将这个页面传送至网络浏览器。

在线采购

下表是立即可于在线下单的AggreGate连网服务器(Device Server)管理的产品:

AggreGate 连网服务器(Device Server)管理
包含AggreGate核心组件、Link Service附加程序、动态DNS附加程序及HTTP Proxy附加程序。
联机数量 价格(美元计价)
25 台 $400
50 台 $600
100 台 $900
200 台 $1100
350 台 $1500
500 台 $1800
750 台 $2050
1000 台 $2200
1000+ 台 与我们连络

Internet of Things Integration Platform
Remote Monitoring, M2M and Device Management Software Platform
AggreGate Platform

Device Server Management

AggreGate provides several services for managing Tibbo Device Servers (both fixed-firmware and programmable) located in private networks.

  • Link Service transparently routes data through the server between devices and computers located in private networks and hidden from each other by firewalls.
  • Dynamic DNS Service helps to locate devices which have no static IP addresses.
  • HTTP Proxy Service provides global access to the web pages stored on the web servers which are embedded into devices located in private networks.

Link Service

Under normal circumstances, on a WAN, communicating with another node (host) on the network can be difficult due to the following factors:

Scarcity of Static IP Addresses

Dynamic IP addresses, Network Address Translation

IP addresses on many networks (especially, the Internet) are now in short supply which gave rise to several technologies allowing you to use available IP addresses more economically. Some examples of these technologies include:

  • Dynamic IP addresses, whereby IP addresses of the hosts change from time to time
  • NAT (Network Address Translation), whereby several hosts communicate with the outside world through a single "external" IP address on a gateway.

These technologies allow each host to make outgoing connections (for example, to visit a website). However, it may be difficult (or actually impossible) to establish an incoming connection to such a host -- you either don't know its current address (because it's dynamic) or it doesn't even have an external address of its own.

The only standard solution to this problem is to assign a static IP address to each host you need to connect to. These static IP addresses have to be obtained first. For example, you might need to lease them from your ISP. A single IP-address wouldn't cost much but when a given system has many nodes you end up spending considerable amounts of money. Even when the WAN is private and IP addresses are free, there are administration costs related to allocation of static IP addresses.

Firewalls blocking inbound traffic

Even assuming one has obtained necessary number of static IP addresses, there is still one more challenge: you have to actually connect to the Device Server which may mean passing through firewalls. Firewalls usually restrict inbound traffic, so you will need to arrange opening ports, etc. This requires more work and increases the chances for possible security breaches (the more internal IP addresses or ports accessible from the outside, the greater the risk).

One possible solution to this is to configure all Device Servers for outbound connections and have them connect to one specific network host. This could save leasing multiple IP addresses, so you would just need a single IP address for this host. Unfortunately, only this single host would be able to communicate with your Device Servers since it would be configured as their destination. As you can see, this solution, too, is not an ideal one.

So, what is the best way to interconnect Device Servers and their "client" hosts when they are on different network segments, located behind firewalls and have no static IP addresses? It is called Link Service.

Link Service

It is usually much easier for a network host to connect out than to accept an incoming connection. Unfortunately, with a normal link, at least one side must accept an incoming connection.

AggreGate provides a workaround for this problem by letting both sides of the link to communicate through a "middle-man" (Link Service) to which they both can establish outbound connections.

When you and your friend use ICQ or MSN, you both connect to a central server. Neither of you typically has a static IP address, but the server has a static IP -- and this is what lets the "magic" happen. Both parties make outbound connections, so no firewalls have to be configured and neither side needs a static IP.

Link Service

The Link Service is a very similar solution and it is tailor-made for Tibbo Device Servers! Your Device Servers in the field connect to the Link Service (make outbound connections). Hosts wishing to communicate with Device Servers also connect to the AggreGate Server by using outbound connections. Both sides meet 'at' the AggreGate Server and can thereby communicate through it.

Dynamic DNS Service

Dynamic DNS Service

The downside of the Link Server is that it is slower than direct connection because all the data must go through the AggreGate Server.

This is not critical for systems which do not produce a lot of traffic per each node. Still, there are times where you might want to create a direct connection to a device (for the sake of speed), but the IP address of this device changes from time to time (as the case with most ADSL connections).

You need a way to track the device down, a way to overcome this and connect to one 'stable' address. You need to know that this address belongs to the Device Server you want and be able to rely on it.

This is where the DNS Service comes in. With DNS Service each of your Device Servers gets a "host name" which looks something like dev1.abccorp.dev.srv1.com (in this example the domain name of your server is srv1.com). You can always connect to your device using this hostname. This URL stays the same even when the IP address of the Device Server changes.

Dynamic DNS mode

Since the actual connection is directly established to the Device Server, you would have to be able to reach it -- i.e, if it has a firewall protecting it, the firewall must be appropriately configured. Configuration would be more complex than with the Link Service, but you would gain an increase in communication speed.

In Dynamic DNS mode, Device Servers connect to the AggreGate Server on startup only after obtaining IP address from DHCP server. After their registration in DNS, they break connection with the AggreGate Server and act exactly as "normal" Device Servers having no relations with AggreGate Server and other parts of AggreGate. In contrast to the Link Service mode, no connection between Device Server and AggreGate Server is maintained. No data is transferred through the server.

HTTP Proxy Service

HTTP Proxy Service

Let's say you have hundreds of Device Servers with embedded web servers and each such Device Server providing access to a number of web pages. It is very easy to access every embedded Web Server when all of them have real static IP addresses. However, in real life, most Device Servers are installed in local networks protected by firewalls, and static IP addresses cost money. In this case, there is no way to access these Device Servers directly. The HTTP Proxy service solves this problem by providing a generic way to access all embedded web servers through the AggreGate Server. It works like this:

  • A Device Server with an embedded web server connects to the AggreGate Server. Its account should be configured to use the HTTP Proxy mode.
  • Someone wants to see the web page, so they start a web browser and surf to a URL, such as http://aggregateserver.bigcompany.com/dev/admin/dev1/data.html.
  • The HTTP request sent by a browser is received and processed by the AggreGate Server.
  • The AggreGate Server redirects the HTTP request to the admin.dev1 Device Server it is currently connected to.
  • The Device Server processes the request and sends the data.html page to the AggreGate Server.
  • The AggreGate Server forwards this page to the browser.
HTTP Proxy Service. How is it works?

Purchase

The following license types are available for order:

AggreGate for Device Server Management
Includes AggreGate core, Link Service extension, Dynamic DNS extension, and HTTP Proxy extension.
License Type Price
25 Device Servers $400
50 Device Servers $600
100 Device Servers $900
200 Device Servers $1100
350 Device Servers $1500
500 Device Servers $1800
750 Device Servers $2050
1000 Device Servers $2200
1000+ Device Servers Contact us